New Pics

This morning I put some pics I took of Krystal on a little experimental photoshoot that I did with her last weekend or so.

Basically the idea behind it was that I would use lighting to “wash out” the skin tone to a pale or even white, while still preserving the vibrant, bright red color of the lipstick on her lips.

Initially, my thoughts of the shoot was just to have her wear a hat so that her hair and her eyes would be hidden, with just her lips being the main focal point.

This shoot, however, was just going to be a test shoot so that I can play with the lighting to see how the shots would come out, so I just said screw it, I’ll go ahead and include the eyes and hair and see how they’ll come out.

What ended up coming out was pretty cool, although everything was a bit washed out, some more than others.

To get the look I wanted, I had to go into PS and mess with the levels and contrast.  I really didn’t want to, but I had to do it to get the look I wanted, so I’m going to have to figure out how to get the “finished version” look of those photos without using PS to get it the next time I do the same shoot.

In any case, once the levels and contrast were bumped up, Krystal’s hair and eyes came to life, along with her lips, and the red heels that she put on halfway through the shoot, since she found them laying around the studio.

Overall, I’m pretty happy with what came out, but there’s definitely a lot of things to improve upon.  With a little more time in the studio doing this type of shots, I’m sure I can come up with something awesome without having to use PS to do the majority of the work.

Hope you all enjoy the pics.

BTW you can view them by clicking the “more photo” link below the “flick me” section, located on the right side of the home page of my blog.

Leave a Reply

