Trust me, I’m a doctor.

So lately, I’ve been having issues with my interwebz, to where I have to reset my modem/router pretty much every other day, maybe even every day, and a thread on my local car forum led to me testing my newer D-Link router that I had bought to replace the bricked Linksys that I had before.

I had a Linksys WRT54G Version 2 router that I’ve had since the Version 2 first came out, and I’ve never had a problem with it.  One day, I had an issue with the modem, so I had to power cycle that to get it to work again, and in doing so, I would normally power cycle the router right after so that all the signals go through and work correctly.

That day, for whatever reason, I thought it was a good idea to press the reset button on the back of the router, which basically returned the router to factory default settings instead of just power cycling itself.

Seeing that, I said “oh wtf?” and went ahead and logged into the webgui and tried to change the settings back to the way they were right away.  Upon the first “save settings” click, it froze, and when I power cycled it, it wouldn’t power back on anymore.  The power light would just keep blinking.

Fast forward to yesterday, and I was determined to give it a try to try and revive, or un-brick my Linksys, as I had narrowed most of my problems to the D-Link router that I had.

Friend of mine gave me a few webpages with different methods to revive the router to check out, and the more easier ones didn’t work, and I literally came to the “try this as the last step because there is only a 20% success rate” step, the step right before “put on your coat and go down to Best Buy and buy another one” step.

It involved opening the router’s casing up, finding the flash chip on there, locating a specific pin, and using a copper wire to ground that pin to the antenna base.  However, the pin is so small, that I actually had to separate the strands and just use 1 strand of wire to touch the pin, while the other end of the wire, I just twisted all the strands together and touched it to the antenna’s base.

This step, however, I would highly suggest that you have a second person to help you, because you need to hold that wire on that pin, and only that pin, while you ground the other end to the antenna, which will take up both of your hands, and while you’re grounding it out, you need to plug the router in to give it power, thus completing the circuit and grounding the pin out.  I had Krystal plug in the router, while I held the wire in place, all the while looking at the cmd screen’s continuous ping attempts to see if it will give me a “TTL=xxx” response.  Right as Krystal plugged in the router, I started getting TTL=100 responses, so I started the TFTP process to load the new firmware onto the router.  Soon, it was back up and running!

It was an awesome feeling, and I literally felt like I was doing the equivalent of using defibrillators on the router to shock it back to life  lol

Thus the title.

PS – I will put up the guide that I used to bring it back to life on my next post.  Gotta run to the in-laws’ to prepare Thanksgiving dinner!

Happy Thanksgiving y’all!

Leave a Reply

